What's the difference between a half brother and a step brother?

A half-brother shares one biological parent with their sibling. A step-brother does not share a biological parent with their sibling, but one of their biological parents is married to one of their step-sibling's biological parents.

---

A half brother is the son of either your father or mother, but not both. A step brother is the son of your step father or step mother.