Why are tomatoes fruit?

Tomatoes are considered to be a fruit because they have seeds. They also develop after the plant blossoms, forming a flower and then growing into the fruit. This is true for other produce such as zucchini, pumpkins and peppers.

---

Per Brittanica.com, "Tomatoes are fruits that are called vegetables by nutritionists. Botanically, a fruit is a ripened flower ovary & contains seeds. Tomatoes, zucchinis, & melons - all edible fruits." Tomatoes & bean pods are called vegetables as they're used in savoury rather than sweet cooking.