How do you tell if an onion is old?

Is there mold growing on the onion? Does the onion have any discolored areas? Is the onion giving off an unpleasant odor? Is the onion soft or downright squishy? Are there soft spots on the onion? Is the onion's flesh all dried out? Has the onion started sprouting?