How do you get gum out of a dryer?

thriftyfun says, To remove chewing gum from dryer, take a dryer sheet and wet with water. Stick the sheet on the gum and leave for 15 minutes, then wipe the gum off. G.H. says dry some old towels then scrub gum with laundry soap & water paste & then clean entire inside of dryer. Dry a load with rags