What does iron do for the body?

From Web MD: Iron is an important component of hemoglobin, the substance in red blood cells that carries oxygen from your lungs throughout your body. Hemoglobin represents about two-thirds of the body's iron. If you don't have enough iron, your body can't make enough healthy red blood cells.