Can you substitute heavy whipping cream for buttermilk?

No. Buttermilk has certain fermentation factors that make it buttermilk--it tastes entirely different than heavy cream and does different things in your recipes. Heavy cream is simply high-butterfat cream--it's not anywhere near the same thing.