When does the body stop growing?

Growth stops at varying ages based on gender and genetics. Once all growth plates close or fuse, the skeleton stops growing and is fully mature. This typically occurs in girls after puberty (roughly 1.5 to 2 years after periods start) and in males generally around 16-17 years of age.