Why do i have 3 worlds in minecraft?

In your Realm, you have 3 different world slots and an additional slot that you can use for minigames. You can have three different worlds loaded in your Realm (for such as two survival worlds and one creative world). Each slot has its own world settings. But, only 1 slot can be active at a time.