What is the wolf eclipse?

When the moon moves into Earth's penumbra, or outer shadow the moon will look darker than normal. ... In January, it's known as the "wolf moon," inspired by hungry wolves that howled outside of villages long ago, according to the Old Farmer's Almanac.