Why is iceland called iceland?

The name was coined by Flóki Vilgerðarson, the third lead Norseman to arrive on the island in around 870 AD, after his first winter there. Previously the land was known as Snæland (Snowland), a label by the first Norwegian to arrive there, Naddoður Ásvaldsson.