What is kosher salt used for?

Kosher salt or kitchen salt is coarse edible salt without common additives such as iodine. Used in cooking and not at the table, it consists mainly of sodium chloride and may include anticaking agents. It's used to prepare kosher meals according to Jewish tradition.