What is an alfred play?

An Alford plea is a guilty plea in criminal court, where a defendant does not admit to the criminal act and asserts innocence. A typical Alford defendant considers the evidence too strong to go to trial where the chance of a jury conviction and a tougher sentence is enough to plead guilty.