What is a caper berry?

A caperberry is a perennial winter-deciduous plant that bears rounded, fleshy leaves and large white to pinkish-white flowers, often eaten as pickled buds (known as capers). The fruit of the caper, sometimes served pickled and is particularly delicious with lox and other fish dishes.