What's the karate kid?

The Karate Kid is a 1984 American martial arts film written by Robert Kamen and directed by John Avildsen. It starred Ralph Macchio and Pat Morita. There were two sequels. There was an animated version and Cobra Kai was created for television. It was remade in 2010.