Do we have hair on our tongues?

The term hairy tongue is used to describe an abnormal coating on the top (dorsal) surface of the tongue. It is a relatively common, temporary, and harmless condition that occurs in as much as 13% of the population. Hairy tongue can occur at any age but is more frequent in older age.