When were cameras invented?

The invention of the camera, as we know it today, has been a slow process throughout history. All starting with early references to the idea by Aristotle in 330 B.C. and ending with Alexander Wolcott in 1840. Wolcott invented the first camera that made photographs that didn't fade quickly.