How do you pickle things?

Pickling is a process by which foods (usually vegetables, such as cucumbers, but almost any food can be pickled) are submerged for a long period of time in a liquid which preserves and protects the food from decay. Pickling solutions usually achieve this through large amounts of salt or alcohol.