What is the difference between an m. d. doctor and a d. o. doctor?

M D stands for Doctor of medicine which is from the Latin Medicinae Doctor. D O is a doctor of osteopathic medicine. The major difference is that some osteopathic doctors provide manual medicine therapies, such as spinal manipulation or massage therapy, as part of their treatment.

---

The simple answer is that both an MD (Doctor of Medicine) and a DO (Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine) are doctors licensed to practice in the United States. They are similarly educated and certified, but there are differences in their training and philosophy of patient care.