Who were the red tails?

The Tuskegee Airmen were called that after they had their P-51 Mustang's tail sections painted red. They are a famous and historically-significant U.S. Army Air Forces unit that faced not only the enemy in WWII, but racial discrimination despite their success in protecting Allied bombers.