Are apples supposed to be refrigerated?

Apples will stay fresh longer if kept cool. While they do not have to be refrigerated it extends the shelf life and some people prefer to eat apples cold. I tend to keep mine in the fridge but do leave some out like on my nightstand or in my car for convenient snacking.