What is a sarsaparilla drink?

Sarsaparilla is a soft drink, originally made from plants like the Smilax ornata, but now sometimes made with artificial flavors. In most Southeast Asian countries, it is known as sarsi, and there is a Sarsi brand. It is similar to root beer.