How long does it take for something to d. spawn in minecraft?

Items despawn after 6000 game ticks (5 minutes) of being in a loaded chunk. If two item stacks merge, the timer is set to the item that has more time remaining. The 5-minute timer is paused when the chunk is unloaded.