Why are police trucks blue?

Blue is the chosen color for police lights as there are very few other blue lights in existence on the roads. Headlamps are yellow and white; brake lights are red— but blue is nowhere to be seen. As a result, blue is able to stand out, and provide the distinction that police vehicles require