When was the first heart transplant?

On 3 December 1967, a large medical, nursing, and technical team led by the surgeon Christiaan Barnard performed the world's first human to human heart transplant, placing Groote Schuur Hospital in Cape Town, South Africa, on the international map.

---

Dr Chris Barnard performs the world's first human heart transplant. On 3 December 1967, South African doctor, Dr Christiaan (Chris) Barnard, performed the world's first human to human heart transplant at Groote Schuur Hospital, Cape Town.