What's the proper way to use aluminum foil?

However you wish. The shiny and less shiny sides are just a product of how the foil is manufactured. Contrary to folk lore, it makes no difference in cooking which side faces the food. Ovens cook mostly by convection which is not impacted at all by how shiny the surface is.