When was tie dye popular?

Originally founded on ancient resist-dyeing techniques – which consists of protecting certain parts of a fabric so the dye doesn't reach it – tie-dye's popularity first peaked in the 1960s and 1970s when swirling-coloured stains on clothes became emblems of the radical lifestyles of the period.