How do you know if your dog has ticks?

Ticks are easily visible on the skin once they suck blood from your dog. Simply ruffle through their fur and look for large brown or red bubbles with legs. They can be anywhere from a millimeter to a couple centimeters large. Do not twist and pull them out or the head will get stuck.