How do scorpions sting?

A scorpion sting is caused by the stinger in a scorpion's tail. When a scorpion stings, its stinger can release venom. The venom contains a complex mix of toxins that affect the nervous system (neurotoxins). Scorpions are arthropods — a relative of insects, spiders and crustaceans.