Was robert byrd a k. k. k. member?

Senator Robert Byrd was a KKK member, having recruited numerous friends to begin a chapter in West Virginia. He later apologized, calling his participation a big mistake. He was U.S. Senator to West Virginia from 1959 until his death on June 28, 2010.