What does a dutch oven do?

What does a dutch oven do? Dutch ovens are great for stews, sauces, soups, braises or any other moist-heat cooking method. It can cook a casserole or a whole chicken. You can brown meat and vegetables on the stove and let them simmer away or transfer your pot to the oven to finish cooking there.