What's a puka shell necklace?

It is a low-cost necklace made from Puka shells found on beaches, in the Gulf of Mexico, Caribbean, and other warm-water locations around the world. Puka shells first became a popular item in Hawaii during the 1960s, as an attractive and inexpensive lei that could be made and sold on the beach.