Why do fruit flies exist?

Fruit flies are a good food source for other insects, like praying mantis and ladybugs.

---

Humans have been asking why things exist since they invented language & nobody knows yet. Fruit flies are important to the environment because they serve as a good food source for small predators like birds & lizards. They are also important for genetic research.