When were guns invented?

The first written record of gunpowder was dated in the 10th century, originally discovered in China. Use in warfare at that time included the fire lance which used a shotgun-like device on the end of a spear. The hand cannon, 13th century, consisted of a barrel on the end of a wooden rod.