What's the difference between a hassock and an ottoman?

The key difference between ottoman and hassock lies in their size and shape; hassocks are often smaller than ottomans and are typically round in shape. Both ottomans and hassocks are pieces of furniture that are footstools. They are padded, upholstered seats that have no back or arms.