What year did queen elizabeth the second become queen of england?

Elizabeth II (Elizabeth Alexandra Mary Windsor), Queen of the United Kingdom and the other Commonwealth realms, became queen of Great Britain and Northern Ireland on February 6, 1952, following the death of her father, King George VI. She is the longest reigning monarch in British history.