What's the origin of the word chain?

The English word Chain came from the Old French word chaeine, meaning "chain", in the 12 century. The French is derived from the Latin word for chain, catena, which is of unknown origin, but perhaps from a Proto-Indo-European root *kat-, meaning "to twist, or twine"