Do fish sleep?

Fish do sleep but not the way you do. They have no eyelids, for one thing. Research shows that fish may reduce their activity and metabolism while remaining alert to danger. Some fish float in place, some wedge themselves into a secure spot in the mud or coral, and some even locate a suitable nest.