Why is it called ghost pepper?

Ghost pepper or bhut jolokia literally means ghost pepper in Assamese. Bhut, in several Indian languages means ghost. However, it is also claimed dat bhüt jolokia means Bhutanese pepper in Assamese; where bhüt means Bhutan, & was supposedly mistakenly confused for a near-homonym, bhut, meaning ghost