What is the snake from harry potter?

In the Harry Potter series, Nagini is described as a large, green snake, roughly twelve feet long and as thick as a man's thigh. In the movies, she is portrayed as a reticulated python, despite the fact that pythons are non-venomous and do not even have fangs.