Is willie nelson american indian?

The cause of Native Americans is close to the heart of Willie Nelson, who is part Cherokee and has many fans among Indians around the nation. At the first "Hope and Harmony for Humanity Benefit" held near Houston, members of various tribes came together in celebration.