What type of vegetable is broccoli?

Broccoli is an edible green plant in the cabbage family (family Brassicaceae, genus Brassica) whose large flowering head and stalk are eaten. It is commonly classified as cruciferous vegetable.

---

Brassica oleracea is a plant species that includes many common foods as cultivars, including cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower, kale, Brussels sprouts, collard greens, savoy, and kohlrabi. In its uncultivated form, it is called wild cabbage, and is native to coastal southern and Western Europe