What's the highest scoring m. l. b. game?

The 36-7 below is the highest for an NL team, and the highest league-wide. Response last updated by Terry on Aug 22 2016. The Chicago Colts hold the all-time major league record for most runs scored in a game when they beat the Louisville Colonels 36-7 on 29th June 1897.