Do mosquitoes help the world?

Mosquito larvae are very important in aquatic ecology. Many other insects and small fish feed on them and the loss of that food source would cause their numbers to decline. Anything that feeds on them, such as game fish, raptorial birds, etc. would in turn suffer.