What is a brandy?

Brandy is a liquor produced by distilling wine. Brandy generally contains 35–60% alcohol by volume. It's typically consumed as an after-dinner digestif. Some are aged in wooden casks, some are coloured with caramel colouring to imitate aging, and some use a combination of both aging and colouring.