How does soda get flat?

Sodas go flat when the 'sparkle' gas carbon dioxide - which dissolves in the beverage under pressure can escape! The gas is retained under pressure in sealed packaging, but if left unsealed or in an open glass the gas able to escape - back into the atmosphere