How did sonic get a speed?

Because Sonic's help in finding an emerald, Dr. Kintobor developed a special pair of sneakers that would help Sonic reach incredible speeds. When testing the sneakers, Sonic was involved in an accident that ultimately fused his quills and turned them blue, thus creating the Sonic we see today.