What's the difference between a newton a salamander?

Newts are a type of salamander, Adult newts live a semi aquatic life, while salamanders are terrestrial, or land dwellers, except when mating and laying eggs.

---

A newt is a type of salamander but, adult newts live a semi-aquatic to aquatic life, while adult salamanders live a mostly terrestrial life except for when they're breeding and laying eggs.