What is the fastest two mile time?

The world best time in the 2 mile for men is 7:58.61 set by Kenyan Daniel Komen in Belgium in July of 1997. The women's record is 8:58.58, set by Ethiopian Meseret Defar in Belgium in September 2007. World records for this distance are no longer recorded.