Why can't animals talk?

Some animals can, such as birds in the parrot and crow groups. Even blue jays can learn to mimic speech. An African Gray parrot named Alex, trained by Irene Pepperberg, learned how to say and use properly over 200 words and phrases. Most animals cannot talk due to the shape of the larynx and mouth.