How many species of rocks are there?

Rocks are not alive so they are not categorized into genus and species like living things. There are three types of rocks: sedimentary, igneous, & metamorphic. Sedimentary are formed from sand or mud that compacts. Igneous are formed fro volcanoes & metamorphic from being changed deep in the earth.